Lennox Lewis slams ref for stopping Joshua, Takam fight in 10th round


Former professional boxer, Lennox Lewis claims Anthony Joshua’s fight with Carlos Takam was stopped “way too early”, The Sun reports.

Joshua retained his IBF, WBA and IBO world heavyweight titles with a 10th-round stoppage-win over Carlos Takam in Cardiff on Saturday.

Asked about the referee’s controversial decision to step in during the 10th round on Twitter, Lewis said, “Of course… it was way too early!

“There’s always something these days. Would have been nice just to let it play out one way or another.

“Takam still looked strong and with his senses! Very good test for AJ though especially with the broken nose.”

Joshua, 28, was caught with an accidental headbutt in the second round as he fought late replacement Takam in Cardiff.

And Lewis believes the experience will do him plenty of good even if the Brit did not produce his best display.

He added, “This was just the type of fight, experience and adversity that Anthony Joshua needed.

“He wasn’t at his best, but sometimes you won’t always be and it’s those times you have to find a way.

“Some fall apart after a broken nose. He remained composed and controlled fight.”