Luka Modric wins 2018 Ballon d’Or,ahead Ronaldo and Messi

LONDON, ENGLAND - SEPTEMBER 24: Luka Modric of Croatia and Real Madrid pose for a photo with his The Best FIFA Men's Player Award and FIFA FIFPro World11 award during The Best FIFA Football Awards at Royal Festival Hall on September 24, 2018 in London, England. (Photo by Alexander Hassenstein - FIFA/FIFA via Getty Images)

Luka Modric has won the 2018 Ballon d’Or ahead of Cristiano Ronaldo, Antoine Griezmann and Lionel Messi.

Luka Modric wins 2018 Ballon d'Or lailasnews

Luka Modric who won the 2018 Ballon d’Or,  won his third Champions League in a row at Real Madrid before captaining Croatia to the World Cup final against all odds. Lionel Messi on the other hand failed to make the top three of the Ballon d’Or for the first time since 2007, finishing fifth in this year’s final vote.

While Messi and Ronaldo have each won the Ballon d’Or five times, Luka Modric became the first player not named Messi or Cristiano Ronaldo to claim the award since Kaka beat the pair to it 11 years ago.

The Croatian already took home FIFA’s award for The Best Male Player earlier this year.


  • 1. Luka Modric (Real Madrid/CRO)
  • 2. Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid/Juventus/POR)
  • 3. Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid/FRA)
  • 4. Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain/FRA)
  • 5. Lionel Messi (Barcelona/ARG)
  • 6. Mohamed Salah (Liverpool/EGY)
  • 7. Raphael Varane (Real Madrid/FRA)
  • 8. Eden Hazard (Chelsea/BEL)
  • 9. Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City/BEL)
  • 10. Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur/ENG)
  • 11. N’Golo Kante (Chelsea/FRA)
  • 12. Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain/BRA
  • 13. Luis Suarez (Barcelona/URU)
  • 14. Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea/Real Madrid/BEL)
  • 15. Paul Pogba (Manchester United/FRA)
  • 16. Sergio Aguero (Manchester City/ARG)
  • =17. Gareth Bale (Real Madrid/WAL)
  • =17. Karim Benzema (Real Madrid/FRA)
  • =19. Roberto Firmino (Liverpool/BRA)
  • =19. Ivan Rakitic (Barcelona/CRO)
  • =19. Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid/ESP)
  • =22. Edinson Cavani (Paris Saint-Germain/URU)
  • =22. Sadio Mane (Liverpool/SEN)
  • =22. Marcelo (Real Madrid/BRA)
  • =25. Alisson Becker (Roma/Liverpool/BRA)
  • =25. Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid/SLO)
  • =25. Mario Mandzukic (Juventus/CRO)
  • 28. Diego Godin (Atletico Madrid/URU)
  • =29. Hugo Lloris (Tottenham/FRA)
  • =29. Isco (Real Madrid/ESP)

ShakaraSquare TV