The 2019 CFDA Awards Nominees And Honourees Are Here

2019 CFDA Awards

The CFDA just announced its 2019 CFDA awards nominees on Instagram, and there are some new names in the mix. Womenswear perennial Marc Jacobs is on the list, as is menswear favourite Thom Browne, and Off-White’s Virgil Abloh made the cut not once, but twice. But all five of the emerging designer nominees are first-timers. That’s a positive development for American fashion, which has seen its mid-career designers drop off the fashion calendar. Not one of this year’s menswear nominees put on a show in New York this season, by the way. Maybe that should be a spring 2020 pre-requisite for this year’s winner?

This year’s honourees, so far at least, are all women and include Vogue’s Lynn Yaeger, who will receive the Media Award in honour of Eugenia Sheppard. Additional honourees will be announced in the coming weeks. Here is the full list of nominees and honourees for the 2019 CFDA Awards; the winners will be announced at the Brooklyn Museum on June 3.

Womenswear Designer of the Year

Brandon Maxwell
Marc Jacobs
Kate Mulleavy and Laura Mulleavy, Rodarte
Rosie Assoulin
Sander Lak, Sies Marjan

Menswear Designer of the Year

Mike Amiri, Amiri
Virgil Abloh, Off-White
Kerby Jean-Raymond, Pyer Moss
Rick Owens
Thom Browne, Thom Browne New York